Cybercriminals

This is a scary reminder that we can all use- be aware and alert when you use social media.

TalesAlongTheWay

Last week, I had an up close and personal experience with a  cyber-criminal ! I was home alone, reading Face Book posts. I clicked on a picture to open the link and read the text, when all sorts of messages popped on my screen.  I tried to X them  out but was unable to do so. Then as I began to panic, I started reading the messages.  DO NOT POWER DOWN as you will destroy your HARD DRIVE  and/ or FILES.  More messages popped in when  I noticed a phone number to reach a CERTIFIED MICROSOFT  TECHNICIAN.  I have to say I was suspicious but also very  near panic for a “lifeline!” I fit the victim profile perfectly.

First I heard the robo message about “message being recorded for quality control”.  This   obviously was to  further draw the  computer owner into the web.  Next, a very polite and extremely…

View original post 417 more words

7 comments on “Cybercriminals

  1. I had this same experience last June. Scary! Cost me. Took in my laptop for cleaning and cut up all my credit cards.Ugh!

    Like

  2. Glad you shared this, Amy. A bit scary…

    Like

  3. dgkaye says:

    Great post for awareness. Good of you to share Amy. Ironically, I just posted about scammers. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

