Reading Round-Up: June Edition

It seemed like June was gone in a flash (flood–we had lots of rain), but I did manage to get a lot of reading done during the month. That is, a lot for me.

The first book I read was Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths. This was a little different from the mysteries I usually read, but I enjoyed it. It’s told from three different points of view and that kept things interesting. It was cool to see the same events from the perspectives of three characters. There are also a ton of references to other works of literature–some I knew and some I didn’t. When it’s all boiled down, the book is a murder mystery. There are some supernatural elements, which I don’t love, but I was glad the killer was a real flesh-and-blood person (and not some apparition).

Next up was The Tulip Shirt Murders by Heather Weidner. This was a great mystery, with some elements I didn’t know much about (think flea markets and roller derbies), so I learned something in the process! It features a female private investigator, which I loved, and her computer-savvy sidekick. There are a variety of red herrings, but our intrepid heroine figures things out in the end.

The Merlon Murders by Victoria Benchley is the first book in a two-book series (read: it ends in a cliffhanger, so be ready to scoop up the second book and start reading right away!) featuring a corporate investigator, Duncan, who travels to Scotland from London to check out the mystery surrounding the death of a man who left behind a fortune, an estate, and lots of questions. This book is like taking a vacation in Scotland–from the rugged mountains to the quaint villages to the culture and the food, it’s a delight for all the senses.

I also read The Anne of Green Gables Cookbook by Kate Macdonald. It has recipes AGG readers will remember from the books, like raspberry cordial and gingersnaps, and they’re easy to make. The book was geared to young cooks more than I expected, but it was still a fun, easy read.

Marilyn Meredith’s Spirit Wind is the continuation of the Tempe Crabtree mysteries, and like all the others, this doesn’t disappoint. There are Native American legends and spirits, a real-life murder, and someone who doesn’t want any of it uncovered. The book is a quick read and I learned a lot about Tehachapi, an area of California that was home to the Kawaiisu tribe of Native Americans.

Last, but certainly not least, was Robert Germaux’s More Grammar Sex, a fabulous book of essays about everything from vacation after retirement to baseball to his car’s GPS system. This was an easy-to-read book of common sense things that makes an afternoon spent reading on the patio (on one of the few days when it didn’t rain) very pleasant.

What have you been reading? I’d love to hear about it.

Until next time,

Amy

15 thoughts on “Reading Round-Up: June Edition”

  1. I don’t read a lot of murder mystery books, Amy, I read more historical, horror and dystopian novels, but all of these sound good. I do love Agatha Christie and James J. Cudney who both wrote/write cosy murder mysteries.

    Like

    1. I haven’t yet read anything by James J. Cudney, but I’m seeing him often on Twitter and I know many people love his books. I will have to check them out.

      Like

  2. Great list of mysteries. Yours is top on my list, though. I finished reading The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton (good!) and am now reading The Fortune Teller by Gwendolyn Womack which is fabulous! I’m hoping for more reading time out on the front porch now that allergies are settling down, rain is not as …. rainy, and my writing classes are coming to an end for the summer.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Pam! I love Kate Morton, and I haven’t read The Fortune Teller yet. It’s, of course, on my list. I’m glad the allergies are lessening. I’ve had a bout with them recently, too. Glad you’ll have some time to yourself soon. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing what look like some wonderful reads Amy. My list is to the moon, and that include 3 of your books I still must get to and yours will come before other mystery books. But I am going to check out that sexy grammar book, lol. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I did not know about the “Anne of Green Gables” cookbook – I will have to check that out! Do they have the recipe for the frosted chocolate cake Anne shoved behind a cushion in “Anne of the Island” when Roy Gardner’s sisters and mother came for a surprise visit 🙂

    Like

    1. There’s the recipe for Chocolate Goblin’s Food Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting. I can’t remember if that’s the one or if this was a different one! There’s also the cake Anne meant to make when she subbed in the liniment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.