Reading Round-Up: November Edition

This will be a short post for two reasons: first, I didn’t get much reading done this month because I’ve been so busy working on Be My Valencrime, and second, because it’s Thanksgiving week in the United States and people are too harried to read long posts over the next few days. 🙂

***

The first book I finished in November was The Death of Mrs. Westaway (Ruth Ware) which I’d wanted to read since it was released in May, 2018. It has a Gothic-y cover and a creepy housekeeper and a forbidding mansion on a neglected estate, so I figured it was right up my alley. I didn’t think it lived up to its hype, but I enjoyed it. Here’s my review:

“I enjoyed this story, with its creepy old house, its Mrs.-Danvers-like housekeeper, and its twists and turns. I didn’t give it five stars because I felt the mystery was a little forced and contrived in some places.”

***

You know I love cookbooks. And I LOVE eggs. So when I saw Sunny-Side Up by Waylynn Lucas on the New Releases shelf at the library, I knew I had to read it. It has some great recipes, and there are tutorials on how to make a perfect egg, which I actually found enlightening. I tried the author’s trick of making creamy scrambled eggs by adding a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese to them, and the results were delicious! Here’s my review:

“This book has some unique recipes using eggs, but I was hoping for a little more oomph in the savory department and a little less oomph in the pancakes/waffles department. I’m looking forward to trying many of the recipes. Gorgeous photos.”

***

Make Your Bed: Little Things that Can Change Your Life…and Maybe the World by Admiral William McRaven (Ret.) is another book I’ve wanted to read since it came out in 2017 and I heard about it on a news program. The book was smaller and shorter than I expected, making it a quick read that it completely satisfying. Here’s my review:

“I loved this little book. I don’t normally read inspirational stuff, but this one was full of stories about perseverance, heart, and courage. I highly recommend it.”

***

And last, but certainly not least, was Still Life by Louise Penny. This author has won award after award for her writing, and I’m embarrassed to say I had never read anything written by her. A friend gave me a copy of Penny’s first Inspector Gamache book and I’m so glad she did. Though I didn’t enjoy the first 50 pages or so, I found the rest of the book riveting and I’m glad I pushed through the beginning to reach the middle. Here’s my review:

“I enjoyed this book, the first in a series. I had a tough time with about the first 50 pages, but I’m glad I stuck with it because Inspector Gamache is a delight. I hope to see Agent Nichol in upcoming books, and I hope she learns some lessons about knowing when to keep her mouth shut. She was a great character–complex and compelling, yet aggravating in a good, literary way. I would love to visit Three Pines!”

***

What have you been reading? Share your recent reads in the comments!

Until next time, Happy Thanksgiving to all my American friends!

Amy

 

10 thoughts on “Reading Round-Up: November Edition”

  1. I am a lover of Louise Penny’s work, and I find myself dipping back into her books for clues on how to become a better writer. I read her most recent release, A Better Man, early in November and am already suffering withdrawal symptoms as I await her next release.

    I also just finished reading and reviewing Second Wind, a new release from my Carmel writing pal, Alison Henderson. It was an enjoyable blend of suspense and romance, with a feisty feline thrown in for comic relief.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    1. I am looking forward to reading A Fatal Grace, the second in the Inspector Gamache series. Congratulations to Alison on her new release! Those feisty felines are always fun to read about! Happy Thanksgiving to you, too, my formerly-American-resident friend!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I would like to read A Turn of the Key, too. Have you read The Woman in Cabin 10? My husband read it and felt the same way about it that I did about The Death of Mrs. Westaway. I have read about Furious Hours, and that book is definitely on my TBR. Thanks for stopping by, John!

      Like

    1. Hi, Darlene, I did not know that about Inspector Gamache, but it makes sense. He is such an endearing character, and having read about Louise Penny and her husband, I’m not surprised that she based him on the love of her life. The Magic Carpet sounds like a good read–I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for including the link. I am thankful for members of the writing community like you!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.