The Art of Short Stories

Vermeer to Eternity by Anthony Horowitz

This was a great read by an internationally known and highly respected mystery writer. Anthony Horowitz weaves a fun and engaging story about a widow with a painting that is allegedly a Vermeer and the art critic who initially determines it to be a forgery.

There is something about Anthony Horowitz’s work that keeps readers turning pages and investing themselves in the outcome of the story. His characterization is definitely part of the appeal, and in this book I found the choice of narrator to be fascinating. The narrator, James, is a neighbor of the widow and an old university friend of the art critic. James’ presence in the story allows the reader to see the widow and the critic from an outsider’s point of view—this adds a terrific element of relatability for the reader. As James’ story unfolded, I found myself agreeing with his assessment of the characters and with the situation they found themselves in.

Ghosts and karma play big roles in this story, and even if you’re not a fan of ghost stories, I urge you to read this one. Because who isn’t a fan of karma??

The book is 23 pages long and you can read it in a jiffy. It’s also just 99¢ on Kindle (not available in any other format) or free if you’re in Kindle Unlimited.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a great short story with a fun twist at the end. Thanks to Veronica Cline Barton for recommending this book on her blog!

10 thoughts on “The Art of Short Stories”

  1. Hi Amy.

    It’s me again, the grammar police.

    I had this issue with any name ending
    with “s.” In my case, “Jesus.”
    I believe possessive is Jesus’s.
    Possessive plural is Jesus’

    So James’s vs. James’
    … but what I know?

    Nice article.

    B

    Sent from my iPhone

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re totally right! That’s one rule I am constantly forgetting, I think because it was different when I was learning grammar in 7th grade. At least I don’t put two spaces after every comma! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, DB!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.