The Last Tuesday Book Roundup

As you know, I’ve been trying to come up with ideas for regular features on this blog. We’ve got the First Tuesday Recipes, We Are the World Blogfest on the last Friday of each month, a monthly author feature (interview and/or guest blog post), and a post that I write based on whatever I’m feeling like writing (last month it was the special “holidays” in July, two months ago it was my summer reading wish list). I also like to do a book recommendation whenever I find a book I’ve really enjoyed. We tried a monthly book club, but we didn’t have a ton of participation.

So I’m trying something different for the last Tuesday of each month and it takes almost no effort to participate: all you do is tell us in the comments about whatever book you happen to be reading.

See how easy that is?

You can simply tell us the title and author, or you can go a little further and tell us a little bit about the book. My hope is that we all are exposed to books other than the ones we’re reading–maybe books in a genre we don’t usually read, maybe books we haven’t heard about but think we might enjoy.

I’ll start. I’m reading two books at the moment: Secrets in Storyville by Patricia Gligor and Death on Heels by Ellen Byerrum. Since Secrets in Storyville was the subject of a blog post earlier this month, I’ll focus on Death on Heels.

Death on Heels is about Lacey Smithsonian, a fashion reporter from Washington, DC. Her old boyfriend and cattle rancher, Cole Tucker, has been arrested for the murders of three women in her hometown of Sagebrush, Colorado. This doesn’t sound like the Cole she used to love, so she heads out west to help clear his name.

So far, I’m enjoying the book. There are some short “Fashion Bites” every few chapters, and I have to say I could do without them. But on the whole, it’s been a good read.

What are you reading?

Until next time,

Amy

12 thoughts on “The Last Tuesday Book Roundup”

  1. Well, living as far West as I ever intend to live, I will be later in the day to post on your blog!

    I am reading The Last Librarian, Justar Journal, Bokk1, by Brandt Legg.

    Although I am only at chapter 5, I can predict that this is going to be a great read. It’s based in 2098, and there is no U.S. hmmmm! Imagine a world Govt and they are always watching you. I won’t say anymore because I dont want to ruin it for anyone who wants to read it.

    This sounds like a fun post, and I hope you get lots of interest!

    Enjoy your week!

    Like

    1. The Last Librarian sounds really good, but maybe a little scary, too? I’d like to read it. I’m glad your move West is over and you’re finally there! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. With intense guilty pleasure, I admit I just finished reading Elin Hildebrand’s newest Nantucket romantic (suspense this time), The Perfect Couple. Total page-turner. Hildebrand is great with character dialogue and interactions, in a perfect setting, of course. Great fun read. I’m also reading Marcia Meara’s Indie book (a fellow blogger) called Wake-Robin Ridge – romantic suspense again (hmmm, a theme here) and I’m next hoping to read fellow blogger D. Wallace Peach’s book, Soul Swallower – a fantasy a bit off of my comfort level, but Peach is a terrific writer, and her books always make me think. I have so many books on my TBR list it makes my head spin. :-0

    Like

    1. From one spinning head to another, I like your choices! Elin Hildebrand has visited the Avalon Library (near Ocean City) as part of their summer authors series, and she gets a great crowd. I am pretty sure I have Wake-Robin Ridge on my Kindle. My uncertainty goes to show you just how many books I have waiting to be read. And Diana Peach is a great writer–I do love her blog posts!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great idea, Amy. I’ve just finished a quirky mystery – Barnabus Tew and the Case of the Missing Scarab by Columbkill Noonan. Tew is a Victorian detective who models himself on Sherlock Holmes – mistakenly so! The story is set in the Underworld where Barnabus and his much cleverer sidekick have been hired by Anubis, God of the Dead. It’s a mix of detective work (mostly unsuccessful) and Egyptian mythology, and was quite the most entertaining book I’ve read in a long time. In the next of the series, Barnabus is at the mercy of the Norse gods. I can’t wait. I love being so excited about a series 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s great when a series can remain fresh and interesting, and it sounds like you’ve found one. What a great idea for a series! I’m glad you’re enjoying it so much. Thanks for sharing!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I just looked up those three books–I love the covers!! They all sound really good. This is the first post where I’ve invited people to share what they’re reading, and I’ve already added so many books to my TBR! I’m glad you stopped by to share what you’re reading. I just finished a cozy ARC, and I’m looking forward to posting the review somewhere.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just finished Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Loved it! I’m not usually big on fantasy but liked this and will read more of the series. Then I read Spirit Shapes by Marilyn Meredith. Now I’m reading various short stories by O. Henry and from the Literary Pasadena anthology.

    Amy, I like this idea of sharing what we’re reading. I know that you read Ellen Byerrum’s guest post on my blog last week and am glad that you’re enjoying Death on Heels. I haven’t yet read that one.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like this idea, Maggie. I think it will be much easier for readers to participate than having a book club. There’s just something about those Harry Potter books, isn’t there??

      I need to read more short stories–maybe I’ll grab a book from the library.

      Like

    1. That sounds like a good one. There’s been a spate of books in the last couple years with titles that include “The Woman” or “The Girl,” and they all sound suspenseful and good. I just looked up The Woman in the Water on Amazon and it sounds so good! I’m glad you stopped by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.