The Williamsburg Book Festival

The Williamsburg Book Festival was held in Williamsburg, VA, on October 6, 2018. This was not only my first visit to the Williamsburg Book Festival, but my first visit to Williamsburg period. It was a great experience and I can’t wait to go back.

I thought I’d use today’s post to share some photos with you. I shared some of these on social media so you may have seen a few of them, but others I haven’t posted anywhere yet.

Garden cottage

The garden cottage was tiny, with moss growing on the roof (you can see that detail in the photo). Inside were heads of garlic hanging from the rafters to dry. Outside the cottage was a large trestle table with different heirloom vegetables:

tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers

Nearby there was a Linus-worthy pumpkin patch.

Because we got there Friday afternoon, left Sunday morning, and wouldn’t have much time to explore Colonial Williamsburg on Saturday because of the book festival, we didn’t buy an admission ticket. A ticket would have allowed us to tour inside the colonial buildings and see tradespeople demonstrating their talents, but maybe we can do that on another trip.

We also got to see a reenactment of a cannon firing, which was interesting and noisy. I especially loved the fife and drum corps, which entertained the small crowd with songs that would have been played in Colonial Williamsburg to mark the end of each day. I’ve tried to upload videos of both the cannon and the fifes and drums, but I wasn’t able to get them into this post.

I was lucky enough to go with my son and a friend of ours, so here’s the obligatory selfie with the three of us:

And here’s the photo of my two companions after they got in big trouble:

We went on a ghost tour after the festival, but I couldn’t take photos because it didn’t start until after dark (after all, what fun is a ghost tour that takes place during the day??)

The Book Festival was fun. I saw old friends and met new ones, which is always a treat. Here are some photos from the festival:

From left, author Kris Kisska Mehigan, author Heather Baker Weidner, and me

 

with author TJ O’Connor

 

from left, Heather Baker Weidner, TJ O’Connor, author Teresa Inge, and me

And finally, a photo of me at my table, ready to sell some books…

Thanks to everyone who came out to support the Williamsburg Book Festival! I had a great time, and I hope you did, too.

Until next time,

Amy

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Williamsburg Book Festival”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.