It’s a Book Birthday!

Today’s the day! The Worst Noel is out for the whole world to read (and hopefully they will)!

If you subscribe to my (mostly) monthly newsletter, you may remember that I promised a behind-the-scenes look at the book, and I’ve chosen to share a couple things about the book that most people won’t know.

First, the book is dedicated to Nana. I don’t usually explain my dedications unless someone asks, but for this one I’ve decided to tell you a little bit about Nana.

My maternal grandmother, Nana passed away in 2008. She was married for almost 65 years to my grandfather (whom I posted about in 2016–you can read that post here). Christmas was her favorite holiday and so it seemed natural to dedicate this book to her. The angel who sits atop our Christmas tree every year was a gift from Nana, so it’s nice to have a special way to remember her each year during the holiday season.

Some of the recipes I share on my blog and in my newsletter each month have come from Nana, too: I’m thinking specifically of the Lemon Jell-O Cake, but I know there have been more.

Here’s the other thing you need to know about Nana: she’s the one I keep in the front of my mind when I write. I’ve always said that my goal when I write is to publish something that my grandmother and my kids would be proud to read, and I think I’ve done just that. So The Worst Noel is for her.

Another interesting tidbit about The Worst Noel is the character, Noley. I didn’t make up that name–it belongs to someone special.

Often people ask me to donate books for fundraisers and charity events, and I’m always pleased to do so. Every summer my church hosts a big musical event coupled with a silent auction. I’ve donated several books to the silent auction, and for the past few summers I’ve also donated the opportunity to name a character in an upcoming book.

The winner of the book-naming two summers ago was a young lady named Noley, whose last name I will not post here because I forgot to ask her parents for permission (!). Anyway, can you guess the name she chose for the book?

I hope you’ll find an opportunity to read the book, review it, tell your friends about it, tell random strangers about it, take out ads in your local papers singing its praises, etc… You get the idea. 🙂

Here’s the Amazon blurb about The Worst Noel:

Christmas is supposed to be a time of peace, love, and joy, but for Lilly Carlsen, this Christmas is murder.

As a single mom, small business owner, and president of the local Chamber of Commerce, the last thing she needs is to find a dead body on the floor of her jewelry shop on the busiest shopping day of the year. And as if that isn’t enough, Lilly has to deal with a deadbeat ex-husband, a mother with declining mental health, and two teenagers.

But when a second body turns up, Lilly finds herself squarely in the crosshairs of suspicion. Can she figure out who killed the victims before she becomes one herself? And will her family’s Christmas be merry…or scary?

If you haven’t had a chance to pick up a copy, here are the links you’ll need:

Kindlehttps://amzn.to/2ynjiHQ

Nook, Kobo, iBooks: https://www.books2read.com/u/m2vBEO

Thanks in advance to anyone who has bought the book, reviewed it, or passed along the info about it! You don’t know how much I appreciate it.

Until next time,

Amy

11 thoughts on “It’s a Book Birthday!”

  1. I pre-ordered it and can’t wait to get started on it. Thanks in advance for the entertainment. Instead of Nana, I had Grandma Dolly, who also loved Christmas. She was so much fun!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.