Last Tuesday Book Round-Up

I haven’t posted a Last Tuesday Book Round-Up for a few months, but it’s time I got back on track with it. February was a great month for my reading list, and I’ve been really good about leaving reviews for all the books I’ve read. Remember, reviews are huge for authors, so don’t forget to leave reviews of the books you read!

Plantation Shudders by Ellen Byron

Set in Louisiana in the summertime, you can feel the muggy heat that seems to make problems worse in this fabulous mystery. Following the deaths of two guests at the Crozat B&B, the Crozat family has to find out the identity of the killer, or killers, before the negative publicity can put them out of business. The main character, Maggie Crozat, has to deal with red herrings galore, a police chief with a grudge against the family, and a big mouth she can’t seem to keep shut.

 

The White Russian Caper by Phyllis Entis

I really enjoyed this book, the second in the Damien Dickens Mystery Series. Set in both Atlantic City, NJ, and Hollywood, FL, it follows Dick and Millie’s investigations into the murder of Miss America. Much of the investigation is shouldered by Millie, but I don’t want to give away more than that. This book was exciting, intriguing, and kept me interested from the first page to the last.

 

One Night in Tehran by Luana Ehrlich

I have to confess that, for all the time I spend on Twitter, this is the only book I’ve bought based on a Twitter post. And it didn’t disappoint. This was a thrilling story about domestic and international terrorism and the efforts of a CIA agent (on forced medical leave) to figure out the identity of an assassin on US soil and to attempt to stop that person from committing any more murders.

 

The Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

This book, based on a true story you might remember hearing about in news reports not too many years ago, follows an American woman on her quest to figure out why the apartment she has inherited in Paris has lain untouched for so many decades. Filled with antiques, artwork, and any number of stories, the apartment takes hold of the main character’s imagination not only because she never knew it existed, but because no one knows why its owner didn’t bequeath it to her own daughter.

 

Tales of Edgar Allan Poe by…Edgar Allan Poe

I picked up this book from the library not only because I wanted to reread some of the stories I hadn’t read since high school, but also because there were stories in it that I had never read. As expected, they were pretty gruesome. If you like horror or the more paranormal-type Gothic stories, this book is for you.

 

Dottie Sprinkles: Fairy Special Winter Wonderland by Pamela Burba

In a departure from my usual type of reading, I sat down one night and read through this delightful children’s book by a woman I became acquainted with in a few of my Facebook groups. The illustrations are enchanting and the lessons in the book are great for kids of all ages.

That’s it for February! Keep an eye out for next Monday’s recipe post!

Until next time,

Amy

10 thoughts on “Last Tuesday Book Round-Up”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.