Last Tuesday Book Round-Up and Barbara Vey Recap

I just got home a few hours ago from the Barbara Vey Reader Appreciation Weekend (BVW19) and I am exhausted and still over the moon! The trip took a little longer than we planned, so when we pulled into Harrisburg, PA, at 2:30 this morning, we stopped and slept at a Hampton Inn for six hours before getting back on the road.

What an incredible experience BVW19 was! From the moment we arrived on Thursday afternoon until Sunday morning at 11:00, I was busy with events every waking minute. My favorites were the Saturday luncheon and the Sunday breakfast because I got to meet with readers in a small group. What a treat it was to spend the weekend with so many people who are passionate about books. I’d like to thank Barbara Vey and her team for the endless amount of hard work they put it to make the event so memorable and fun, and I’d also like to thank the readers for showing up and being so supportive and eager to learn about new-to-them authors. And don’t even get me started on meeting Meg Tilly, the keynote speaker and an acclaimed writer/actress/screenwriter/producer. It took me two full days to get up the courage to talk to her, but it made my day when I finally did.

I’ll be posting photos from the event on my Facebook page, so be sure to check them out!

I find that April tends to be a very busy month. For that reason, I didn’t get as much reading done as I had hoped. I finished three books, and I loved all of them. I know, I sound like a broken record, but I seem to have a knack for picking out great books.

Deadly Southern Charm, edited by Mary Burton and Mary Miley, is an anthology of short stories set in the South and featuring strong Southern women. If you read this book, I can pretty much guarantee you’ll love it. Full disclosure, I am friends with several of the authors, but I would love this book no matter what. Here’s my Amazon review:

“This was a spooky, fun, and thoroughly Southern collection of mysteries. Each one was so unique and so different from all the others that every time I should have closed the book and gone to bed, I would say to myself, “Just one more story.” So I lost a lot of sleep thanks to Deadly Southern Charm, and I’d do it again because it’s so much fun to read. Kudos to all the authors for such great writing.”

A Dangerous Mourning and Defend and Betray, books 2 and 3 in the William Monk mystery series by Anne Perry, were fabulous. A Dangerous Mourning had an ending that caught me off guard, but I realized after some thought that the ending was the only one possible. Defend and Betray deals with a pretty tough topic, and I wasn’t sure I was going to like it once I figured out what was happening. But I did, and I ended up giving both books 5 stars. They’re completely different from each other, which is a hallmark of a great mystery writer.

I’m off to clean out my email and get some sleep!

Until next time,

Amy

8 thoughts on “Last Tuesday Book Round-Up and Barbara Vey Recap”

  1. How can you do that? Give me MORE books that I want to read? Your newest one is next up on my list and I cannot wait to dig into it. What would I like for Mother’s Day? The time to just sit and read for hours. :–) Not going to happen, as we finally are feeling spring-like temps here in NE also. But I digress. I admit, I’m jealous of your time at the BVW19 (what an interesting name for a conference) and the fabulous experience you had there. I enjoyed seeing your photos on FB. Authors need that time with enthusiastic readers who can’t wait to dig into your writing words. Well done!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Pam! I hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day. I actually did spend most of the day reading, since I have an ortho boot on one foot and I hurt my back. But it was a nice day, nonetheless.

      The Barbara Vey Reader Appreciation Weekend was a wonderful experience, and it was so nice to spend a few days with people who are so passionate about reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I rode the mechanical bull.

        Ha! Not really-I probably twisted it making the bed or some other totally mundane activity. Thanks for your good wishes! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh my gosh – at first I was imagining you at a cowboy bar on that bull. It was quite an image!! (I think you should stick to that reason when people ask you …”What happened?!”

        Like

  2. Amy, thanks for sharing BVW19 with us. I so envy you! Thanks also for again sharing such nice comments about Deadly Southern Charm. As for Anne Perry—you can’t go wrong with her. I’ve read most of the Thomas and Charlotte Pitt series, but some of the Monk one as well. Rest up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Maggie. I had a great time at BVW. It’s an opportunity I’ve hoped for for years. I really did love Deadly Southern Charm, and I hope you sell a million copies!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.