Amy Metz Interview

GPJ2Cover

This week I welcome author Amy Metz, author of the Goose Pimple Junction books. I just recently downloaded the first book in the series, Murder & Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction, and I’m very much looking forward to reading it. Nice to have you here, Amy!

Interview Questions for Reade and Write

Tell me about your new book.

Heroes & Hooligans in Goose Pimple Junction is the second book in my Goose Pimple Junction mystery series. The main characters in this book are Martha Maye Applewhite and Johnny Butterfield. All of the same characters from the first book are back for this one, plus a few new ones. There are several mysteries to solve – some more sinister than others – and of course, someone has to die!

Who is the audience for the book?

Anyone who likes mysteries and has a sense of humor.

Tell me about the setting of your book—how did you choose it, what kind of research did you have to do, why did you choose it?

I’ve been told that the town itself is almost a character of its own, and that makes me very happy. Goose Pimple Junction is a combination of a couple of real life small towns and my imagination. I wanted a close-knit community with whacky characters and a beautiful, clean Southern town. I hope it’s a place readers would like to visit or live.

What was the hardest thing about writing the book?

I had a hard time coming up with a plot with this second book. I actually had a different killer in my first draft. And editing . . . don’t get me started!

If your book were made into a movie, who would you like to see playing the main characters?

I think Kathy Bates would be a great Louetta. Or Shirley McClain. But Louetta’s a heavy woman, in my mind, so maybe Shirley wouldn’t work. For the other characters, I just don’t know. I’m coming up blank.

Have you written any other books?

I’ve written the first book in the series, Murder & Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction (of course), and I’m writing the third book now. I also have a novelette just about finished up that explains a few things that happened in between the first and second books.

Are you in one or more critique groups or partnerships?

I was when I wrote Murder & Mayhem, but I’m not anymore. I do think they’re a great source of advice and support. I just don’t have time to properly participate right now.

Do you write every day?

In normal times, yes. My life is in total upheaval right now, so it’s been a while since I’ve written. I am itching to get back to it. I have a new character in mind, and he’s giving me all sorts of ideas.

When you read a book, what authors do you like best? What genres do you like best?

I love mysteries, and Robert B. Parker is my favorite author. I also like humor, so when an author combines mystery and humor, I’m hooked. David Rosenfelt and Dennis Hart do a really good job of that in their novels. Harlan Coben, Michael Connelly, John Sandford, Nelson DeMille . . . there are so many to love.

Where would you like to go more than anywhere else on earth?

To The Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport, Maine. I’ll sit on the veranda overlooking the ocean, sip a cold drink, alternating from reading a book to photographing the beauty of the area and the activity on the water. Heaven.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Run, Forrest, Run!

What is your favorite movie and why?

Hmm…not sure I can pinpoint it to one. I love Princess Bride, O Brother, Where Art Thou, My Cousin Vinny. One really weird one that I love is Wild Wild West, with Kevin Klein and Will Smith. There are a lot of movies to love, too.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Follow your heart, but listen to your mind.

Describe yourself in three words.

Crazy old lady.

Is there anything I haven’t asked that you wanted me to?

Nope. I’ve been in the hot seat long enough!

Where can readers connect with you?

Website: http://amymetz.com

Blog: http://abluemillionbooks.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMetz

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authoramymetz

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6436458.Amy_Metz

Where can readers find your books?

Right now they’re only at Amazon.com.

http://www.amazon.com/Amy-Metz/e/B008NA07X4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Murder & Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction: http://www.amazon.com/Murder-Mayhem-Pimple-Junction-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B00NE1H8FW/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Heroes & Hooligans in Goose Pimple Junction: http://www.amazon.com/Heroes-Hooligans-Goose-Pimple-Junction-ebook/dp/B00R6CWTYU/ref=pd_sim_351_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=050Q2JRSHCS5B157VKZW

authorpic2012

7 thoughts on “Amy Metz Interview”

  1. Well done, Amy and Amy…. I love the combination of mystery and humor.. And small southern towns… Not to mention crazy old ladies, being one myself… I am headed over to Amazon to download the first book in the series. Thanks for introducing me to another author… Now if you could only extend the day so I can read more… 😃

    As always “Keep Reading and Writing”.

    Like

  2. Wonderful interview! The comment about the town almost a character on its own made me think about small towns I’ve traveled through that just wrap their arms around you. They are comfy-cozy type places. I’m not really a mystery reader, but this description would entice me to pick up the book and give it a try.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.